Metrorail is running on a new schedule of 12 hours from now.

Dhaka Metrorail
Metrorail will be closed only on Fridays in the week from now.

Metrorail In the new schedule, trains will run from 8 am to 8 pm at all stations.

The new time has been changed. Metrorail will be closed only on Fridays in the week from now. Metrorail will run for the remaining six days.

Instead of six hours, the metro rail has started running in Dhaka on a new schedule of 12 hours per day.

From Wednesday, trains will run from Uttara to Agargaon in this new schedule from 8 am to 8 pm.

Along with that, the weekend has also changed, instead of Tuesday, the movement of metro rail is closed on Friday.

Dhaka Mass Transit Company Limited (DMTCL) public relations officer Nazmul Hossain said, “Considering the demand of passengers, the new schedule of 12-hour metro rail movement from 8 am to 8 pm has been implemented from this morning.”

After the inauguration last December, trains were running every 10 minutes from 8 am to 12 pm. Considering the demand for passengers, at the beginning of April, the time was increased by two hours and the train ran for 6 hours. Now that time has increased to 12 hours.

In a press conference on May 18, MD M A N Siddique of DMTCL announced the new schedule and said that according to the new schedule, the peak hour will be from 8 am to 11 pm. During this time every 10 minutes trains will arrive at the metro station from both directions.

And since there is less passenger pressure from 11 am to 3 pm, that time will be considered as ‘off-peak hour’. At that time the train will leave every 15 minutes.

Again there will be another ‘peak hour’ from 3 pm to 6 pm. 6 pm to 8 pm will be considered off-peak hours.

Explaining the reason for making the weekend on Friday instead of Tuesday, he said, “It (Metrorail) needs some major maintenance. It has to be closed for a day. After talking to the commuters who ride regularly, considering the demand, we have decided to stop the Metrorail from May 31 on Fridays.” took.”

He said that although the metro rail was operational during the last Eid, it will be closed on the upcoming Eid-ul-Azhar.

Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina inaugurated the train movement from Uttara Uttar station to Agargaon on December 28 last year. The country’s first electric train started passenger movement the next day. Later, nine stations on the route were opened in a phased manner.

These nine stations are- Uttara North (Diabari), Uttara Centre, Uttara Dakshin, Pallabi, Mirpur-10, Mirpur-11, Kazipara, Shayorapara, and Agargaon.

The second section of the Dhaka Metrorail ie from Agargaon to Motijheel is planned to be launched by the end of this year. And the extension from Motijheel to Kamalapur is planned to be launched by the middle of 2025.

Leave a reply